ABRF Membership Matters

March 2023

ABRF and FASEB – Raising Awareness and Advocating for Core Facilities

This month, ABRF members will participate in the annual <u>FASEB Capitol Hill Day</u>, which assembles dozens of leading scientists from the 27 FASEB member societies to deliver a unified message about the importance of increased funding for NIH and NSF to support biomolecular research. Your ABRF colleagues will meet with their local representatives to share their stories about the impact this funding makes to support ground-breaking research and infrastructure investments.

Capitol Hill Day is one of the many ways in which ABRF's membership in <u>FASEB</u> amplifies the voice of Core facilities within the scientific community. Through participation in FASEB's committees, Board leadership, and contributing to publications, including the <u>FASEB Journal</u> and <u>FASEB BioAdvances</u>, ABRF members have the opportunity to impact to policy and advocacy priorities advanced by the Federation.

At a time when resistance to science is growing and funding priorities may be changing, it's more important than ever that ABRF continue to engage in the federal policy dialogue.

ABRF is well represented within FASEB by Nick Ambulos, who serves on the FASEB Board of Directors, and Andy Chitty, who is a member of the FASEB Science Policy Committee. Other ABRF members serve on FASEB Committees and Task Forces to provide valuable input to FASEB activities and priorities related to Data Management and Sharing, Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion (DEAI) and Workforce Development.

To learn more about FASEB initiatives, visit the <u>FASEB web site</u>. <u>Contact us</u> to learn more about how you can represent ABRF on one of the FASEB Committees or Task Forces.



ABRF Membership Committee

Sara Bowen Chair - Barrow Neurological Institute
Kym Delventhal - Executive Board liaison - Stowers Institute for Medical Research
Ron Niece - Research Resources & Technologies
Anoja Perera - Stowers Institute for Medical Research
Thayumanasamy Somasundaram - Florida State University
Sean Vargas - University of Texas at San Antonio
Frances Weis-Garcia - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Mary Winn - Van Andel Institute