ABRF Diversity Equity Inclusion and Belonging (DEIB) Council

Current Initiatives


The purpose of the Diversity Equity Inclusion and Belonging (DEIB) Council  is to hold ABRF accountable to its commitment to inclusion, diversity, and social justice; and to ensure ABRF continues to foster diversity and inclusion throughout the ABRF community. 


The DEIB Council is committed to the construction of a diverse, inclusive, and equitable culture within the ABRF community through the following:

  • Development of recommendations for ABRF Executive Board consideration, including the drafting and editing of equitable policies
  • Conduct of research, surveys, and other investigations to understand and determine a base line for the ABRF community’s assessment of our current level of diversity, equity, and inclusion
  • Development of metrics and benchmarks for evaluating ABRF’s success in advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion
  • Proposal and scoping of programs for enhancing diversity, equity, and inclusion
  • Recommendation of other actions that support ABRF’s commitment to diversity, inclusion, and justice


The DEIB Council will include at least 
12 members as follows:

  1. three ABRF member volunteers who have served in leadership roles, one of whom will serve as Chair;
  2. three ABRF at-large member volunteers, including those who are active with ABRF Chapters;
  3. two member volunteers from ABRF Institutional member organizations;
  4. two member volunteers from ABRF Corporate Partners;
  5. one Executive Board member liaison; and
  6. ABRF Executive Director.

ABRF members and corporate partners interested in joining the ABRF DEIB Council may submit their interest to the DEIB Council via ABRF Executive Director Ken Schoppmann ([email protected]).

Current Members

Sara Bowen, (Executive Board liaison), Barrow Neurological Institute
Ousmane Noël Diallo, Pasteur Institute of Dakar
Shixia Huang, Baylor College of Medicine
Noelani Kamelamela, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tania Mesa, (Co-Chair), Moffitt Cancer Center
Flo Ramirez, University of California, Berkeley
Eduardo Rosa-Molinar, University of Kansas
Ken Schoppmann, ABRF Executive Director
Todd Smith, InnovATEBIO
Mary Winn, (Co-Chair), Van Andel Institute

Prior Members

Roxana Del Rio Guerra, University of Vermont
Bill Hendrickson, University of Illinois at Chicago (Retired)
Deborah Hollingshead, University of Pittsburgh
Feather Ives, University of California, Berkeley
Justine Kigenyi, University of Kansas Medical Center
George Langford, Syracuse University
Carla Moentenich, Twist Biosciences
Jane Romm, Agilent Technologies
Frances Weis-Garcia, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center


Community Colleges: the New Frontier for Advanced Biotechnology Education and Laboratory Services 
ABRF 2019 Annual Meeting

Expanding Underrepresented Minority Participation
America's Science and Technology Talent at the Crossroads 

National Academies of Sciences, 2011

Guide to Inclusive Scientific Meetings
500 Women Scientists

Minority Serving Institutions
America's Underutilized Resource for Strengthening the STEM Workforce

National Academies of Sciences, 2019 

Social Justice Resources