ABRF Award

ABRF Annual Award for Outstanding Contributions to Biomolecular Technologies

Biological research is driven by technology. As new instruments and chemistries are conceived and implemented, new frontiers are created and new possibilities emerge. Technology, from the invention of the light microscope to the deciphering of the Human Genome, opens doors into the unknown that would otherwise remain firmly sealed. The ABRF Award recognizes those pioneers responsible for development of these powerful new tools that serve as the foundation of the modern biological research enterprise. 


Current Membership

Current Membership
Rich Cole (Chair) - School of Public Health - State University of New York 
Marie Adams (Executive Board Liaison) - Van Andel Institute
Andy Chitty - Oregon Health & Science University
William Hendrickson - University of Illinois at Chicago (retired)
Kevin Knudtson - University of Iowa
Frances Weis-Garcia - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Membership History

Member NameOrganizationDetails
Michelle M Detwiler Roswell Park Cancer Institute  EB liaison: 03/09 - 02/11
Michael Doyle Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharma  Liaison: 02/08 - 03/09
Dr. Jay W. Fox Univ of Virginia  EB Liaison: 02/06 - 02/08
Dr. David B. Friedman Vanderbilt University EB Liaison: 3/12 - 3/14
Dr. Gregory Grant Washington Univ Sch of Med  Chair: 01/98 - 02/08
Dr. Mark O. Lively Wake Forest Univ. Sch. of Med.  Member: 07/04 - 07/04
Alan J Smith somerset consulting  Member: 02/08 - 03/09
Kristine Swiderek ZymoGenetics  EB Liaison: 07/04 - 02/06
Dr. Anthony T Yeung Fox Chase Cancer Ctr  EB lliaison: 03/11 - 03/12